Pantry Must-Haves

 

I made cookies the other day on a whim. I was on the self-declared food committee for a girls’ outing & picnic at a winery. I woke up that morning and realized we needed cookies. Duh. So I threw together oatmeal & tahini & chocolate chip cookies for us to nibble on with our pink wine and classy picnic.

My best friend was so impressed I made cookies in the morning before picking everyone up. She kind of laughed and asked if I just have everything I need to make cookies at all times. The short answer?* Pretty much…

The secret to preparing foods at home is making sure your kitchen is well stocked. If you get the urge to make something, it is the worrrssstttt if you don’t have a simple ingredient you need. Most of the time, you’ll probably just end up ordering pizza or going out to a restaurant to eat the meal you were craving! At least, that’s what I do.

With that in mind, I have put together a list of the things I have found essential. These are things I think every kitchen needs and I highly recommend you have them on hand so you don’t find yourself needing to make runs to the market every time you want to make a batch of cookies or a simple meal!

*The long answer? I get creative to avoid the things I don’t have. For my cookies on Sunday, I didn’t have eggs, so I mixed up flaxseed with some water to create a sticky binding paste, and mixed it in. I didn’t have enough butter, so I looked up a recipe for inspiration that used tahini in it. I also could have also used coconut oil (you saw my instagram of the HUGE tub I just bought at costco). Having the confidence and creativity to make some substitutions goes a long way in ensuring you can throw food together with what you have at home. But first – make sure you stock up on pantry essentials so you have most of the items you need!

Ready your kitchen, with these essentials:

  1. Essentials:
    • Salt & Pepper
    • Flour (We always have spelt & regular all purpose flour)
    • Sweet: Raw sugar, brown sugar, maple syrup & honey
    • Vinegar: balsamic, rice, and red wine
    • Condiments: Soy Sauce, Sriracha, Spicy mustard!
  2. Oils/Fats:
    • Olive oil
    • Butter
    • Canola oil
    • Highly recommend: Coconut Oil
    • Peanut butter
    • Tahini
  3.  Grains:
    • Rice (white and brown)
    • Rolled Oats
    • Quinoa
    • Pasta
  4. Canned:
    • Garbanzo beans
    • Black beans
    • Coconut milk
    • Chicken/veggie broth
  5. Spice cabinet basics:
    • Basil
    • Oregano
    • Cumin
    • Coriander
    • Paprika
    • Cayenne
    • Cinnamon
    • Ginger
    • Garlic
  6. Baking basics:
    • Vanilla extract
    • Baking powder
    • Baking soda
    • Yeast
    • Unsweetened coconut flakes
  7. Seeds / Nuts (I find them essential – we usually have the following on hand)
    • Raw almonds
    • Pepitas
    • Flax seed (ground or whole)
    • Sesame seed
    • Chia seed

IMG_7264

There are a lot of lists out there. Many of which have more items.This is what I truly find essential to have all the time.You can of course go out and buy specialty ingredients when a recipe calls for it, but it’s great to have these things in your back pocket for when you need them. If you stock up on these items, it will give you flexibility to make something on the fly. And if you want to make one of my recipes (please do!), having these basics will certainly help you be prepared! 

Coming soon:
A grocery shopping guide. What we buy every week to ensure we can make well rounded meals vs. the items we buy sparingly for specialty recipes! Tips for shopping smart & green.

Thanks for reading, loves!

 

 

Leave a Reply

