Tahini & Lemon Hummus

Food often ends up being my own way of “sticking it to the man.” Its a fun challenge to try to make something at home and when you succeed you get to say, “screw you corporate food system…I made my own hummus and will no longer stand for paying an obnoxious price for something that is so simple and cheap to make.”  Making food can be rebellious and badass. It feels fantastic and my wish for you is that you also get to feel that satisfaction!

So here’s my basic hummus recipe. Alex and I have been on a hummus kick because we can make a huge batch and then take it in lunches all week!

Ingredients

  • 2 cans chickpeas
  • 1 lemon
  • tahini paste*
  • olive oil
  • minced garlic (to taste)
  • paprika
  • salt/pep
  • a blender or food processor

*You can usually find tahini in a typical grocery store. Its sometimes tricky to find, so ask someone! I think I found it near the peanut butter last time. Note: Tahini can be expensive, but it will last you awhile!

Recipe

  1. Rinse and drain the chick peas and put them in a small sauce pan. Cover with water and put over medium heat. I don’t like raw garlic so I also add the minced garlic to the sauce pan to cook with the chick peas. Add as much or as little as you like! Once it boils, turn the heat down so it doesn’t boil over. Cook 15-20 minutes or until the chick peas are pretty soft! The softer they are, the smoother your hummus will be.
  2. Pour the chick peas into your blender/food processor. Save the water you cooked them in!
  3. Add the juice of one lemon, a drizzle of olive oil, and a little of the chick pea water. Blend. Add more chick pea water if its too thick. Pulse the blender to get it all mixed up.
  4. Once its pretty combined, add a tablespoon of tahini paste. Blend some more.
  5. Keep adding olive oil and water until its the consistency you want -tasting as you go to ensure its on track for being something you like!
  6. Add salt and pepper to taste, as well as paprika!
  7. (Optional) Add roasted bell pepper, curry powder, cilantro, OR other spices you want to try out! Its fun to switch it up.
  8. Your finished hummus will be warm (since you cooked the chickpeas). I like it warm, but if its not your thing, refrigerate it before eating. I recommend storing it in a tupperware and drizzling olive oil/garnishing with paprika before serving.
  9. Enjoy! And stick it to the corporate food system by never buying overpriced hummus (with unnecessary and weird ingredients hidden in it) ever again!
2 thoughts on “Tahini & Lemon Hummus

  1. Dave says:

    Hey! Why do you cook the chickpeas? I’m curious because I’ve never done it that way. Do the skins come off when you boil them? I usually do squeeze the skins off, which takes time but also makes I smoother.

    😀

    Like

    • emiejgeorge says:

      Hey there, I have started cooking them because it makes them more tender so they blend better and its a smoother consistency that Alex and I love. I add the garlic and some salt/pepper while they’re cooking, which means you have flavorful water you can add to the mixture when blending to get it the right consistency, instead of needing to add extra oil or tap water. I’ve actually never squeezed off the skins, but maybe i’ll try that in the future! Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

